Central London League Chess- News

News from 2019-20 for Central London League Chess

News from other years: 2015

02 Sep 2019

Steve Sonnis

Fixture Changes

The D2 match between London Deaf and TfL that was originally scheduled for Friday 20 September 2019 will now take place on Friday 22 November 2019. The D2 match between London Deaf and Battersea3 that was originally scheduled for Friday 15 November will now take place on Friday 8 November.

02 Sep 2019

Steve Sonnis

Updated Information for the 2019/20 Season

We welcome two new clubs to the CLL for the 2019/20 season. Both Streatham and Hammersmith have entered teams in Division3. Also SW Juniors have been rebranded as Hammersmith Juniors. The league is now full. Also, Nick Faulks armadillo@northrock.bm has taken over from Steve Sonnis as League Administrator.

02 Sep 2019

Steve Sonnis

Fixtures 2019-2020

The fixture list for the 2019-20 season is available as an admin document and can be accessed at http://www.oxfordfusion.com/oca/documents/CLL%20Fixtures%2019-20.pdf

02 Sep 2019

Steve Sonnis

New Pimlico Venue

From 18 October the Pimlico venue is the Community Centre on the 
Lillington Gardens Estate. It is underneath Morgan House and is 
somewhat hidden away in the middle of the Estate. The directions 
below  are probably the simplest route from Pimlico Station for 
first time visitors.

1. Take the Rampayne Street exit from the left side of the station 
booking hall
2. Walk down Rampayne Street to the junction with Vauxhall Bridge 
3. Turn left onto Vauxhall Bridge Road and walk towards Victoria
4. After c200 yards you reach the Moo Cantina bar/restaurant at 
number 43.
5. Immediately after the Moo Cantina walk down a short flight of 
steps onto the estate road.
6. Continue towards Victoria along the estate road for c50 yards and 
you will reach an archway between Charlwood House and Henry Wise 
7. Turn left under the archway and the entrance to the Community 
Centre is c30 yards directly in front of you.

Total distance from the station is c400 yards.

Given that we will be in the middle of a residential estate, it is 
most important that we are considerate of our neighbours. Please 
leave quietly. Ditto when using the smoking area.

Please remember that we are not allowed to consume alcohol on the 
premises and we must not park vehicles on the Estate roads at any 
time. There is plenty of public parking in adjacent streets. 

02 Sep 2019

Steve Sonnis

Background Information

The Central London League was formed in 2011 under the auspices of 
Pimlico Chess Club. The driving force behind its creation was James 
Toon. Pimlico Chess Club continues to operate the league, with Steve 
Sonnis acting as administrator on the club's behalf.

It is intended that the league should offer competitive, but 
friendly, chess for players of all standards. All matches must be 
played within Zone 1 of the London Underground, as defined in 2017. 
The season runs from early September to the end of May. 

In the Central London League, all games finish on the night. No 
adjudications. No adjournments.

Originally a single division with 7 teams, the league has expanded 
to three divisions. For the 2018/19 season, Divisions 1 and 2 will 
have 8 teams and Division 3 will have 6 teams. No further 
applications will be considered for the 2018/19 season

The League is open, any team may apply to join. Any applications for 
the 2019/2020 season should be made by the end of May and will be 
subject to a vacancy arising. 

Divisions 1 & 2 have no grade limit on individual players but teams 
must not exceed an average grade of 205 in any one match. There will 
be promotion/relegation between the divisions. It is hoped that 
teams in D2 will, over the season, have an average grade no lower 
than 150.

Division 3 is, in principle, limited to players with a maximum grade 
of 145. Some exceptions may be made in exceptional circumstances.

Each team consists of 5 players in Divisions 1 and 2, and 4 players 
in Division 3.
Players may play for only one club in Divisions 1 & 2 and for only 
one team in a particular division. Players in Division 3 may play 
for only one team in that division, but it does not have to be the 
club they play for in the higher divisions.
Some teams operate from secure premises. They will need a list of 
visiting players at least two days before the match. In the interest 
of fairness, they will send their own team list in return. Visitors 
may be asked for ID on arrival at the venue.
The team winning the toss has White on odd boards.
Matches start at 6.30pm.
Absent players will be defaulted at 7.15pm.
The time control will be a Fischer time control of all moves in 75 
minutes plus 15 seconds a move.
If suitable digital clocks are not available at any particular 
venue, the time control will be 30 moves in 75 minutes then all 
remaining moves in a further 15 minutes.
Mobile phones should be silenced or turned off for the duration of 
the playing session. If a player's mobile phone rings during play, 
he should be asked to silence it or turn it off. If it happens 
again, he loses the game by default.
Each captain will submit the match results promptly via this 
website, showing the names, grades and result on each board.
All games will be submitted for ECF grading.

For games played by non ECF members, the ECF is likely to levy a 
charge on the league. Any such charges will be passed on to the club 
concerned who will be responsible for ensuring the league is 
reimbursed promptly.
Teams who wish to use the Pimlico venue for their home matches will 
be asked to contribute £25 per home match towards the rental costs. 
For the 2019/20 season this will increase to £30 for Divisions 1&2. 
The rental costs will be recovered in two instalments, the first to 
be paid by the end of November and the second by the end of 

Any disputes will be resolved by the league administrator who will 
call on assistance from FIDE Arbiter Nick Faulks as required.

Any enquiries to armadillo@northrock.bm 


Old News

Any unexpired news items dated before 1 August 2019 can be found by using the link for the relevant year. The link for 2018 will give news dated 01 Aug 2018 - 31 Jul 2019.